One of the finest classical coastal artillery forts in the world
Camden Fort was one of a number of forts that protected the mouth of Cork Harbour and was never attacked during it’s 500 year history. The fort was occupied by the British Army until 1938 when it was handed over to the Irish Free State. Eamon de Valera (then Taoiseach of the country) came to the fort for the handover and had breakfast in the Officer’s Mess. The Irish Army were then based at the fort until the 1940s. The fort was subsequently used as a training ground for the FCA (Reserve Defence Forces) and the Slua Muiri (Naval reserve Defence Forces). Following a review in 1989, the fort was officially handed over to Cork County Council. Unfortunately the fort was vandalised and many original features were stolen over the next 20 years, but in 2010, Cork County Council worked with the local community to establish ‘Rescue Camden’ and the site was then opened to the public. The Camden Fort Meagher Volunteers have worked (with the aid of the County Council) to conserve the site and run guided tours during the summer months.
Abarta Heritage were privileged to help the volunteers of Camden Fort Meagher to tell the remarkable stories of this very unique site. We worked with the volunteers to devise a bespoke tour guide training course that best suited their needs. During the 6 week training programme, we worked on modules such as: Tour Guiding Standards, Customer Service, Tour Script Development, Tour Management and Health and Safety. Over 20 volunteers took part in the programme and all found it extremely beneficial.
Discover the stories of Camden Fort Meagher for yourself and walk in the footsteps of the soldiers who were tasked with defending one of the worlds largest natural harbours..